Petition Instructions and Forms
Filing Fee: $750.00 (non-refundable)
Filing Fee: $2,000.00 (non-refundable)
Homeowners Association Dispute Process
In 2011, the Arizona Legislature passed legislation providing Arizona homeowners and condominium and planned community associations (HOA’s) a venue for resolving disputes. These administrative procedures provide an alternative to the civil court system and do not limit the legal rights of the parties to further pursue matters. This legislation became law on July 20, 2011.
Link to legislation: SENATE BILL 1148
Link to 2014 legislation passed related to planned communities, or condominium association: 2014 Leg Report
PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING IMPORTANT INFORMATION:
The filing fee for a single violation is $750. NEW FEES AS OF APRIL1, 2015. PLEASE SEE BELOW.
The filing fee for multiple count violations is $2,000.
Filing fees are NON-REFUNDABLE, except when the petition is dismissed at the request of the Petitioner before a hearing is scheduled or by stipulation of the parties before a hearing is scheduled. A.R.S § 41-2198.01 (B).
The petition shall be in writing on a form approved by the department.
Only an owner or association may petition the Department for a hearing.
An owner’s petition (complaint) must be about a dispute between the owner and the association. An association’s petition (complaint) must be about a dispute between the association and the owner.
The Department cannot accept petitions (complaints) filed by or against renters, non-owners, directors, representatives, other homeowners or management companies.
FEE CHANGE EFFECTIVE APRIL 1, 2015
Effective April 1, 2015 the Department of Fire, Building and Life Safety, in consultation with the Office of Administrative Hearings, has decided to raise the filing fee for a “Single-Issue Petition” in order to fully recover costs associated with the HOA petitions. The filing fee will be raised from $550.00 for a “Single Issue Petition” to $750.00 for a “Single Issue Petition”. The filing fee for a “Multi-Issue Petition” will remain $2,000. This fee-change for the “Single-Issue Petition” is effective April 1, 2015.
Please refer to the information in the petition forms that are available on this site (see above right). If you have questions concerning these forms and/or the process, contact us at: HOA @ dfbls.az.gov
Adobe Acrobat is required to view most uploaded files-Click here: to obtain the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader for free.